• About

    Creating a Cultural Home

Our Mission

The National Hispanic Cultural Center is dedicated to the preservation, promotion and advancement of Hispanic culture, arts and humanities. The Center presents exhibitions, lectures, book readings, performing arts and educational programing that are meaningful to the local community. It offers the Hispanic, Chicano and Latinx artist a place to present their work and bring it to the national stage. The NHCC is committed to making a cultural home for the diverse identities that shape the community.

***

The NHCC is located in the historic neighborhood of Barelas, on the corner of Avenida Cesar Chavez and Avenida Dolores Huerta. The Center encompasses a 20-plus-acre campus which includes a plaza, three theaters, an art museum, a historic designated building, an education center, a library, a genealogy center, and a restaurant. The NHCC also houses the Spanish Resource Center, a branch of the Spanish Embassy, and Instituto Cervantes. The National Hispanic Cultural Center is a division of the New Mexico Department of Cultural Affairs and is further supported by the National Hispanic Cultural Center Foundation.

***

NHCC LEADERSHIP

Board of Directors

President
Matt Martinez

Vice President
Bill Miera

Secretary
Holly Jane Barnet-Sanchez

Members
Elizabeth Arencon
Holly Jane Barnet-Sanchez
LouAnne Byrd
Anita Cordova
Vivian Cuadra
Annette Garcia
Edward Lujan (Chair Emeritus)
Matt Martinez
Vaadra Martinez
Bill Miera
Sandra Avalos Russell
Marisa Ivy Sage
Nasha Ynez Torrez
Florencia M. Trujillo

Staff Leadership

Executive Director
Dr. Margie Huerta
(Margie.huerta@state.nm.us)

Artistic Director
Noël Bella Merriam
(Noel.Merriam@state.nm.us)

Deputy Director
Alberto Cuessy
(alberto.cuessy2@state.nm.us)

Education (Ed) Program Manager
Dr. Rosalia Pacheco
(Rosalia.Pacheco@state.nm.us)

History and Literary Arts (HLA) Program Manager
Dr. Carson E. Morris,
(carson.morris@state.nm.us)

Performing Arts (PA) Program Manager
Vacant

Visual Arts (VA) Program Manager
Jadira Gurule
(jadira.gurule@state.nm.us)

Finance Manager
Sylvia Serna
(Sylvia.Serna@state.nm.us)

Public Relations Specialist
Stephen Hamway
(stephen.hamway@state.nm.us)
For media inquiries, please call 505-412-3758

Rental Facilities

NHCC offers dynamic event spaces for groups of all sizes. We can provide a beautiful and unique venue for your next special event or meeting. The NHCC’s campus has many inside and outside venues to consider, with on-site catering services provided by Pop Fizz and La Fonda del Bosque.

To schedule an event or for general inquiries, please send an email to info.nhcc@state.nm.us or contact us as 505-246-2261. A Rentals Specialist will respond within 2 business days.

The National Hispanic Cultural Center is dedicated to the preservation, promotion and advancement of Hispanic culture, arts and humanities. The Center presents exhibitions, lectures, book readings, performing arts and educational programing that are meaningful to the local community.